New ‘super’ majority seen in Senate

THE new “super” majority bloc in the upcoming 19th Senate will be led by Sen. Cynthia Villar who is expected to be elected as Senate president, a source privy to the impending Senate reorganization said.

Majority of the incoming senators – neophyte and returning ones – will elect Villar as the new Senate chief while the Senate minority bloc will have four members, the same reliable source said.

Based on the unofficial tally for the senatorial race the top 12 winning candidates are: Robin Padilla, Raffy Tulfo, Sherwin Gatchalian, Francis “Chiz” Escidero, Mark Villar, Alan Peter Cayetano, Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri, Emmanuel Joel Villanueva, Joseph Victor “JV” Ejercito, Ana Theresia “Risa” Hontiveros, and Jose “Jinggoy” Estrada.

Aside from Villar the majority bloc will be led by Sen. Maria Josefa Imelda “Imee” Marcos as Senate President Pro Tempore and Zubiri as Senate majority leader.

Marcos reportedly turned down the offer to be the Senate president “out of delicadeza” since his brother, former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. is emerging to be the president-elect in the recently-concluded national elections.

Their members will include senators Gatchalian and Villanueva (reelectionists); Escudero, Legarda, Ejercito, and Estrada (returning senators); Padilla, Tulfo, and Mark Villar (neophytes); and incumbent Senators Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara, Maria Lourdes Nancy Binay, Ronald Bato dela Rosa, Christopher “Bong” Go, Manuelito “Lito” Lapid, Mary Grace Poe, Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr., and Francis Tolentino.

The minority group will be led by returning senator Alan Peter Cayetano with incumbent Senators Pilar Juliana “Pia” Cayetano and Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel 3rd as well as reelectionist Sen. Ana Theresia “Risa” Hontiveros as members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: