LRT, MRT offer free rides on Independence Day

MANILA- Commuters in Metro Manila will get free rides at the Light Rail Transit Lines 1 and 2 (LRT) and the Metro Rail Transit 3 (MRT-3) on Independence Day, June 12.

Free rides will be available at all stations of the metro train lines from 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. and from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Monday.

LRT-1 operator Light Rail Manila Corporation (LRMC) recently announced the addition of light rail vehicles (LRVs) at the metro line, which it said would “add more trips to shorten passengers’ waiting time.”

LRT-1 runs from Baclaran in southern Metro Manila to Balintawak, Quezon City while LRT-2 covers 11 stations from C.M. Recto Avenue in Manila to Santolan at the boundary of Marikina City and Pasig City.

The MRT-3 on the other hand runs from North Avenue in Quezon City to Taft Avenue in Pasay City.

The metro train lines offer free rides annually in commemoration of Independence Day.

(Article and Image from

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: