After 10 years: Swimming hero Deiparine ends PH’s SEA Games losing spell

By Danielle Nakpil, CNN Philippines

Ten years. A decade-long losing spell haunted the sport where the Philippines produced many greats.

But there is no better way to end this 10-year medal drought but win on your home country, and shatter SEA Games records.

James Deiparine is an answered prayer to Philippine swimming as he championed in the 100m breastroke event, while breaking records with his time of 1:01.46, today, at the Aquatics Center, in New Clark City.

Deiparine was followed by Vietnam’s Pham Thanh Bao, and Singapore’s Khoo Chien Yin Lionel.

Remedy Rule also secured a silver in the women’s 200m butterfly category, while Jasmine Alkhaldi landed a bronze in the 100m freestyle event.

Some of the Philippines’ most bemedalled athletes in SEA Games history are tankers Eric Buhain, Miguel Molina, and Akiko Thomson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: